My Reading Goals for 2013

Wow! Two blog posts in 24 hours? I guess I am trying to make up for lost time!

I was too slack with my reading last year. I only read about 20 books – several of which were either juvenile chapter books or picture books that I read through at work. Of course, I also read textbooks and countless articles for school, but this is still not acceptable! Reading a book used to be my ‘happy place.’ It was what I did to unwind and leave the world behind for a bit. I also enjoy video games and playing on the computer as relaxation devices, but I want to return to the avid reader I used to be.

I have also picked up a terrible habit that I never used to have. At the moment, I have six books that I am reading. SIX. I used to read books one at a time, but I have been flitting around recently. I want to finish all of these books by the end of January, though that is quite the lofty goal with school.

What I am reading at the moment:

An Utterly Impartial History of Britain, or 2000 Years of Upper Class Idiots in Charge by John O’Farrell

utterlyimpartial

I have been working on this book for months now. It is hilarious and interesting, but it is best read in small doses.

Dolly by Susan Hill

dolly

I picked up Dolly at Hatchards in London. It is a signed copy, which I thought was pretty cool. I am an absolute sucker for a good ghost story, and even a mere 15 pages in it already has a good creepy atmosphere.

Have I Got News for You Presents: A Guide to Modern Britain by Nick Martin

modenbritain

I found this in a bookshop for £1, so I figured I couldn’t go wrong. Like An Utterly Impartial History of Britain, it is a clever and amusing read.

The Liar by Stephen Fry

liar

After being lucky enough to meet Stephen Fry, genius and all around amazing human being, I decided I needed to watch, read and listen to anything he’s ever been involved with. I can hear his voice crystal clear in my head when I am reading this book.

Atheism and the Case Against Christ by Matthew McCormick

atheism

Normally I do not read this much nonfiction (what can I say? I love my novels!), but I saw this book at work and had to check it out. I am not a full chapter in and the author is already preaching to the choir, but I appreciate any well written arguments for my beliefs (or lack thereof in this case).

Wrong and Dangerous by Garrett Epps

wrong

Another surprising nonfiction that caught my attention at work. I figured I already had a religion book – might as well get a politics book too!

Urban Welsh edited by Lewis Davies

urbanwelsh

This is a collection of short stories by Welsh writers. Many of the stories are set in the urban areas of Wales (though some are not). The only problem with this so far is the same problem I’ve encountered with every collection of short stories – I don’t like all of the stories. The good news is that if I do not like it, it will be over soon. At the moment I am stuck on a particularly tedious story. I thought of just skipping it and moving to the next, but I really would like to read this book in its entirety.

I never set specific goals when it comes to things like how many books I am going to read because I feel like I am setting myself up for failure; however, I would love to read at least several books a month this year. Once I cross the books named above off of my list, I am thinking of reading popular young adult fiction in order to have a better idea of how to help the teens who come into my library looking for new books to read. I would love some recommendations if anyone has any! The last YA I read was Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and the Life as We Knew It trilogy.

Leave a Reply

