Books for October

BookPile

Good lord! Look at that giant pile of books I need to read! That is a solid mixture of ARCs received from publishers, books won from Goodreads giveaways, and a few that I purchased.

Most of them will have to wait, though. It’s October, which means I am reading all spooky books this month! (We won’t count the fabulous middle-grade ARC I read a few days ago because I couldn’t help myself.)

My love of supernatural and horror novels is a bit strange, considering I don’t believe in ghosts, but I’ve been devouring them ever since my early days of reading. I went from R.L. Stine to Christopher Pike to Stephen King and John Saul. I always tended more towards ghost stories over zombies and the various creatures of the night, but I am reading a really enjoyable zombie novel at the moment that is making me consider reading more in that category.

So, what have I read so far? I technically started reading it in September, but I finished Sarah Pinborough’s Mayhem in October. It was an incredibly interesting twist on a Jack the Ripper-esque novel.

Mayhem

(That does not look like the cover of the copy I had, but I don’t know whether that was to do with the fact that mine was an ARC or if there is a difference between the US and the UK version.) Click here to visit the Goodreads page for Mayhem.

I am currently reading Jamie McGuire’s Red Hill. I won this from the Goodreads giveaways. It is a zombie novel focusing on three different sets of characters that end up in the same place and have to survive a zombie apocalypse. It is probably a fairly standard zombie novel, but I am really enjoying the characters. Click here to visit the Goodreads page for Red Hill.

RedHill

I have two other books that I plan on reading during October. One is Diane Setterfield’s Bellman & Black (Goodreads page here – there is currently a giveaway for this book ending 18 October) and Susan Hill’s Dolly (Goodreads page here). The first is an ARC I received, and the second is an autographed copy that I purchased at Hatchards when I was in London last December. Both look very interesting and have lovely covers!


Bellman and Black
Dolly

As long as school doesn’t end up kicking my butt, I do hope to read more than these four books. I don’t have any other titles lined up, so I’d love any recommendations! Anything spooky, macabre, supernatural, or just plain creepy is welcome!

One thought on “Books for October

Leave a Reply

